Road Trips and Why They Make Novels

I have never been a huge fan of driving, let alone long distances.  It was to my greatest surprise the first time I did my 6 hour long road trip by myself.  Despite my worries and stress, it turned out to be one of the best six hours I’d spent to myself in a loooong time.

As an introvert I relished the time alone.  It was just me, my thoughts, and the open road.  I immediately began to see what was so addicting to bikers zooming up the winding roads on their motorcycles.  Admittedly, I probably didn’t look as classy in my ’01 Pontiac Bonneville, but a girl can pretend!

Have you ever hit the road solo for a long drive?  Was it as boring as you thought, or were you pleasantly surprised as well?

To be honest, it would get boring if I did it often.  I don’t know how truckers do it.  But sometimes, we writers need complete isolation in order to sort out our thoughts, our feelings, hopes, dreams, and-you guessed it- plotting ideas.  I can’t say I mind spending 6 hours focusing on myself and my ideas.

And the best part?  You can freely imagine without having the pressure of putting your words onto a page yet.   There’s no limits to what you’re thinking.  There’s no caution that makes you scrap an image because you can’t describe it properly.  And there’s absolutely no bar on how big your ideas can grow.

To sum up: I’m about to fly solo for 6 hours, and I plan on enjoying every sweet minute of imagination exercises.

Cheers and happy plotting! 😉

About Aly Hughes
Unprofessional, unedited, unpublished. Aly is out to make a name for herself by blogging, twittering, facebooking, and general internet-ing. Be warned: She may not know what she's talking about.

Add Your Thoughts

