Paige: An Introduction

This piece is quite different from what I usually write.  It’s one of many short writings that I plan on eventually accumulating into a novel of sorts.  The story of Paige is loosely based on myself, even her name coming from what my parents almost named me.  So, I write about Paige when something significant or striking happens, or almost happens, to me.  This has been left unedited intentionally because I wish to preserve the short stories as they are until I finally compile them and can edit them as one.

Also, I realize the majority of people, aka, everyone who has subscribed so far, who read my blog, are pretty much the opposite of my intended target audience for this.  But on the off chance you like it, feel free to let me know. 🙂

**********

There is a rumor that your life flashes before your eyes when faced with death. For Paige Macintosh, however, that time came sooner. Although she was in no real danger of dying, life as she knew it was indeed ending. Paige was sitting on a ratty brown couch picked up while dumpster diving. Her soon to be ex-boyfriend was currently pacing a hole in the carpet in front of the couch. His ranting words were lost on the girl who was preoccupied by her own life story.

Age 4: She watches enviously as her brother gets to hold the puppy on the ride home. Age 9: The room is filled with laughter as her cousins make fun of her. Paige would never care for them again. Age 15: She’s sitting on the curb with her mom, watching the tow truck pull the car out of a ditch. Results of her first driving lesson. Age 18: The dorm room is impossibly small to be sharing with the wild room mate she just met. Age 21: Looking at the letter of dismissal from the college. Enter depression. Age 22: Paige’s boyfriend gives her a big hug after they finish moving boxes into their new apartment.

Now: She’s getting dumped. Again.

“I don’t know what more I can do Paige. How am I supposed to keep looking after you when you won’t let me and refuse to do it yourself? I thought things would change but apparently I was wrong,” Alex said, finally standing still and looking at her. The movie reel of her life ended. Everything culminated to this very point in time and she wasn’t even paying attention. She didn’t need to. Paige knew full well what was about to happen, why her mind replayed every significant memory. Realizing this, she faced Alex for the first time since he started talking. “Well? Aren’t you going to say anything?”

“I’m not sure what to say,” her voice was quiet and timid. Alex looked at her incredulously. Paige averted her eyes. “What? What do you want to hear from me?”

“I don’t know…something! You sit there silently, as if this doesn’t even matter to you anymore.” He waited for her to reply. When she didn’t say anything he threw his arms up in defeat. “I give up. I’m done with this. Paige, you’ve become impossible to deal with. I’m leaving.” With that Alex grabbed his jacket and headed for the door.

“Wait! Alex…are you breaking up with me?” For the first time in three weeks she actually cared about what the outcome was.

“Yeah, I guess I am,” he said, before slamming the door behind him. Stunned silence followed.

All her hopes, dreams, and happy memories shattered like a wine glass in the wrong place on moving day. Paige could see her fragmented thoughts imbedding themselves into the carpet, where just minutes before her boyfriend had stood. Time didn’t stop, but Paige’s life was stuck on this singular frame. Minutes passed into hours as she sat unmoving. Her mind was numb, unwilling to process what just happened and what it meant for her. Instead, she sat there, going over all the now broken memories she shared with Alex. What were once beautiful scenes were reduced to shards, threatening to cut through her heart if she dared tried to put them back together. She didn’t dare.

Her life was sitting before her in ruins, and she didn’t have the will to put it back together. Was there even a point to try and fix things? She was estranged from her parents, didn’t have a job, and had dropped out of college. Not only that, but her boyfriend just walked out on her and the apartment they shared. How would she pay for it? If he came back and kicked her out then where would she live? Paige suddenly imagined herself selling all her possessions, moving to a big city and either becoming a crazy homeless person, or a prostitute.

The horror of her prospective future catapulted her mind back to the present. It was almost dark out, and had been at least an hour since Alex had stormed out of the apartment. He had to come back at some point, and when he did, Paige would be ready. She started rehearsing what she would say to win Alex back. Becoming a crack whore was not an option.

About Aly Hughes
Unprofessional, unedited, unpublished. Aly is out to make a name for herself by blogging, twittering, facebooking, and general internet-ing. Be warned: She may not know what she's talking about.

13 Responses to Paige: An Introduction

  1. rtd14 says:

    You have some good stuff here.

  2. rtd14 says:

    There were parts that made me smile or remind me of my own experiences in college. You also have some very good descriptions.

    • Aly Hughes says:

      Thank you for your kind comment, I’m glad you could relate to the story. A lot of details are pulled from my experiences in a small college town. I’m sitting on an old brown couch from the 80’s. One of my roommates brought it from home for our apartment, then the year after we moved out, and our third roommate used it, and this year it bounced to my apartment that I share with my boyfriend. I will also admit to picking furniture up at the end of semesters when people leave stuff out by the dumpsters. I don’t think I’ve met someone who hasn’t dumpster dived for items during finals week here!

  3. Luarien says:

    Oddly enough I’m really glad I read this. One of my girlfriends is exactly like Paige and we had that same argument quite a few times (though I didn’t break up with her, obviously). We found out it’s because she’s bipolar, and she’s getting help now, but it was a frantic kind of relationship when she was stunned and afraid when things went wrong like that.

    Hopefully this is something that never happens to you ’cause if it’s something that’s poignant it hurts to know you’ve been in that kind of situation. It hurts seeing anyone who’s there or has been there.

    • Aly Hughes says:

      I actually have experienced a “fight” like that with my current boyfriend. Obviously we haven’t broken up either. But I think that silence, sort of deer-in-the-headlights reaction is more common in girls, because I’ve done it, my brother’s girlfriend does it, my friend does it, and it’s happened to you from a girl before too. It’s not just a bipolar reaction, although I’m sure that magnified the problem, made it more extreme than my situation.

      I’m not bipolar, but one of my closest friends is. I know the kind of strain a relationship can have due to that. I’m glad your girlfriend is getting help for it.

      • Luarien says:

        It could be, though other than Hannah I’ve never dated anyone that’s had that kind of shock response (though I do occasionally – fear can be petrifying).

        I am too, it’s kind of weird to see how many responses (like this one) are magnified by the disorder. Little things become huge issues really quickly.

  4. amhudlow says:

    I L-O-V-E-D this. You truly are a great writer and I can’t wait to read “Paige and The Craiglist Ad”.

    • Aly Hughes says:

      haha, thank you so much! There will definitely be more of Paige to come! She started off as a pet project, but as of late I can’t seem to stop writing about her and creating new scenes in my mind. 🙂

  5. Sara Flower says:

    Wow! I really enjoyed reading this. I want to read more about how Paige plans to win her boyfriend back, or perhaps map out an interesting new plan for her life.

  6. This is so similar to the situation I am currently in… Out of college, no job… Good times, huh? :-\

Add Your Thoughts

