My Favorite Quote From a Book I’ve Never Read

This will just be a quick post today.  I wanted to share a favorite quote of mine, which ironically comes from a book I’ve never read.  I keep running into it unexpectedly, yet every time it makes me catch my breath with how marvelous it is.

“I wanted so badly to lie down next to her on the couch, to wrap my arms around her and sleep. Not fuck, like in those movies. Not even have sex. Just sleep together, in the most innocent sense of the phrase. But I lacked the courage and she had a boyfriend and I was gawky and she was gorgeous and I was hopelessly boring and she was endlessly fascinating. So I walked back to my room and collapsed on the bottom bunk, thinking that if people were rain, I was drizzle and she was a hurricane.”  -Pudge, Looking For Alaska, by John Green

I hope one day I will write something that people will love and quote without ever having read my book.  Of course, then I hope they love it so much they go and pick my book up, but I can worry about that later!

I think, perhaps my new goal for this year is to actually read some of John Green’s books, not just quotes from them.  If anyone has read his novels, let me know what you thought of them, and which you’d recommend. 🙂

About Aly Hughes
Unprofessional, unedited, unpublished. Aly is out to make a name for herself by blogging, twittering, facebooking, and general internet-ing. Be warned: She may not know what she's talking about.

7 Responses to My Favorite Quote From a Book I’ve Never Read

  1. rmridley says:

    that is a wonderful quote – well written but even more beautifully felt.

  2. dmmaster42 says:

    A beautiful quote. John Green is a really great writer. I can’t wait to read Looking for Alaska.

  3. Sara Flower says:

    Wow. That is a beautiful passage.

  4. rtd14 says:

    That is a great quote. I have not read any John Green, but it sounds like he nails his characters. “I was a drizzle, and she was a hurricane.” Beautiful. Another great post!

  5. Stephanie says:

    Looking for Alaska is one of John Green’s best, for sure, and a great place to start. I loved it! I remember that passage, too. It’s also one of my favorites.

  6. Yes, indeed, it’s a beautiful quote. 🙂

  7. BARBARA QUAYE JNR says:

    Great and i like expressive/descriptive writing , i luv this

Add Your Thoughts

