Git-R-Done

This two part-blog post will consist of first, an anecdote from high school, and secondly, a lesson I’ve been learning while writing.  As it’s been established in this blog, I am quite wordy. So if you aren’t in the mood for one of my high school stories, go ahead and scroll down and start reading the third paragraph after the picture.  

The year was 2008, I was a senior in high school, and very unhappy about it.  My high school had this program called Running Start which allowed juniors and seniors to take classes at a college down in Vancouver, Wa to get both college and high school credit.  As soon as I was a junior I kissed my high school good-bye and never stepped on campus again until I was forced to return for a single class the last semester of senior year.

In order to feel less foolish about going to the high school for only one class, I enrolled in three: Current World Issues(formerly Current World Problems, but our school decided the world didn’t have Problems, it had Issues.  Also, my required class),  Advanced Drawing and Painting, and Home Economics?  I can’t remember the last one because I dropped it two weeks in, it was some sort of homemaking/baking/cooking class though.

Ironically, that’s the class I wish to talk about.  You see, I lived in a very small, very conservative, very, for lack of a better word, hick town.  People wore cowboy hats and cowboy boots, they drove monstrous trucks that I probably am not tall enough to even get in, and they talked in a southern accent, obviously confused about geography because we lived in SouthWest Washington State.  They also participated in rodeos, and went huntin’ and muddin’ and cow tippin’, because only weird people pronounced ‘ing’.

But-back to my Home Ec class.  I had no friends in that class, which was unfortunate because the teacher was my friends mom, and she was really cool. However, that didn’t make up for being stuck with two hicks as my partners.  I don’t want to sound mean, these two guys were actually nice to me, but we just didn’t have anything in common, and it was clear neither of us felt like we’d make great friends.  So it was neutral, they talked to each other and I was just there.  Story of my life.

About the second week in, we were learning how to make pies.  Surprisingly the guys wanted to make it, so I just sat there and read directions as they crafted the masterpiece.  It wasn’t until I saw the pie come out of the oven, and someone took a picture, that I realized I had just helped in the making of a Git-R-Done pie.  As in, the slogan was right there, ON the pie.

It even made the yearbook. (Sorry for the bad quality, but if you look hard you'll see it!)

Of course, at that time Larry the Cable Guy was pretty much the new Shakespeare as far as half of my high school peers were concerned.  So “Git-R-Done” might as well have been our high school motto.  In fact, I’m not entirely sure they didn’t change it the year after I left.

Regardless, my snooty high school self (I’m not going to lie, I was a tad supercilious in my high school days) was so over being in that class at that point, so I dropped it, and never looked back.

 

Which brings me to the present.  Despite having the shiny new writing program I talked about in my last post, and fresh determination, I haven’t been making as much headway in my novel as I had hoped.   And I think I’ve finally pinpointed what the problem is.

It’s a vague case of not being able to turn off my inner editor as I write.  Up until now, I’ve only written short pieces.  I’ve been able to do minor edits as I progress through a story, without that holding me back from continuing on in my writing.  It’s like giving out little sweets to my inner editor.  However, with this novel, if I so much as stop to feed the inner editor, then my writing falls to shambles and it feels so much more difficult to get back on the writing horse.  I get paranoid about showing vs. telling, then I have to completely rewrite sections.  And I know this is what is going to happen anyways, multiple times, guaranteed.

However, completely re-writing and editing isn’t what I need right now.  What I need, is to just sit down, duct tape the mouth of my inner editor, and get my story onto the page, no matter how juvenile a form it takes.

I’m hoping this blog post will help writers just starting out, like myself, or at least serve as a reminder to everyone more advanced in their writing careers than me.  Edits and re-writes are there for a reason, but as I’ve said before, you can’t edit what isn’t on the page.

So, I’m going back to my not-so-country roots to remind you all to:

GIT-R-DONE

About Aly Hughes
Unprofessional, unedited, unpublished. Aly is out to make a name for herself by blogging, twittering, facebooking, and general internet-ing. Be warned: She may not know what she's talking about.

4 Responses to Git-R-Done

  1. And here, clever writing is inspired by the very antithesis of it!

  2. As we were talking about in the other post, this is one reason I handwrite my first drafts. Less temptation to go back and fiddle. Now if only the typing-it-up part wasn’t so tedious. 🙂

    Also, sometimes the way you write it the first time is right, so it’s better to let it sit a bit before you risk messing it up.

    (I had to google “git-r-done” to figure out what you were talking about. 🙂 )

    • Aly Hughes says:

      haha! It’s definitely a “Redneck American” phrase! If you have a minute and a half to spare here’s an explanation from the “creator” of the phrase himself: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4TU-li1BqZ4 You can hear the phrase in all it’s Redneck glory! 😉

      I also enjoy writing by hand. I completely agree that it gives less temptation to go back and edit/rewrite areas. I also tend to write sentences/paragraphs out of order as I find new things to add, etc, and it so it’s nice going through after I’m finished, and draw arrows for rearranging. It helps to physically see where things and ideas began, compared to where I end up putting them. That does make typing them up, especially longer works, rather difficult!

Add Your Thoughts

