Versatile and Liebster Blog Awards

I was skeptical about these blogger awards at first, but after being nominated(twice!) on Sunday, I’ve come to the conclusion that they are great tools for connecting bloggers with each other.  I like the idea of sharing links with readers to blogs that I think might interest them.  Also, last week I was tagged for the Lucky Seven Meme, which I’ll be posting about soon, so keep a look out, because it’s a fun one!

As you guys know, I love getting responses from people on my blog.  I like to think of my blogging and twitter escapades as a great way of building a positive community around myself.  This is why I’ve chosen to accept and share these awards with all of you.  I hope you all enjoy browsing these fantastic blogs, and I encourage you to reach out and connect with fellow bloggers.

¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦

A big thank you to Amy Keeley and Pete Denton for nominating me for this award.  Amy, I know you nominated me in January, but please forgive the time lapse!

The rules for accepting this award are as follows:
1. Thank the award-givers and link back to them in your post.
2. Share 7 things about yourself. 
3. Pass this award along 15 or 20. 
4. Contact your chosen bloggers to let them know about the award. 

Seven things about Aly:

  1. I have a love affair with baking. And  I just applied to a Pirate-themed Cupcake/Frozen Yogurt place opening in town.  Which quite possibly might be the best idea for a bakery ever.  Please wish me luck!
  2. When I get really excited about things, I start to sneeze.  Uncontrollably.
  3. I used to sport a red fauxhawk. (If I get enough requests, I’ll post pictures.)
  4. One of my older brothers and I have the same birthday.  Even though he’s two years older, we still act like twins.
  5. I was a closet writer for 10 years after my non-creative family picked apart a story idea that I made the mistake of sharing with them.  I still dislike talking about writing with them because they don’t understand.
  6. I have a habit of lighting candles before I sit down to write.
  7. Coffee makes me sleepy.  But sometimes I drink it anyways because it reminds me of when I worked as a Barista, which I absolutely loved.
Nominated Blogs, that I highly recommend you check out:
¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦

Another tremendous thank you to Rebecca T. Dickinson of  A Word or More for this nomination!  She has an amazing blog that I’ve linked to before, and I’m sure I will again, so be sure to check it out.

Liebster is a German word meaning dearest, and the award is given to up-and-coming bloggers with less than 200 followers who deserve some recognition and support to keep on blogging.

The rules are simply:
1. Thank the giver and link back to the blogger who gave it to you.

2. Reveal your top five picks and let them know by leaving a comment on their blog.
3. Copy and paste the award on your blog.
4. Hope that the people you’ve sent the award to forward it to their five favourite bloggers and keep it going!

Side note: I don’t actually know how many followers these people have, but I love the encouraging aspect of this award.  

My Liebster Blog Award Nominees:

Crystal Wind Chimes
The Writing Engine
Jumping Ship
Cashmere Clouds
Writings and Musings of a Nerdfighter

¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦¦

 

About Aly Hughes
Unprofessional, unedited, unpublished. Aly is out to make a name for herself by blogging, twittering, facebooking, and general internet-ing. Be warned: She may not know what she's talking about.

25 Responses to Versatile and Liebster Blog Awards

  1. robincoyle says:

    I want to see the red fauxhawk please.

  2. robincoyle says:

    Oh, and congrats on the award!

  3. Congrats on the awards and thanks for passing one onto me! 😀 and I also want to see the red fauxhawk please 😀

  4. Pete Denton says:

    Thank you for accepting the nomination. I agree about the whole awards game. They are a good way of getting to know other bloggers and interacting with the community.

    Keep up the good work 🙂

  5. Congrats on the awards! And these look like great blogs to check out.

  6. derekberry says:

    Thank you much for the nomination!

  7. Pingback: Versatile Blogger Award | The View Outside

  8. Thank you so much hon 🙂

    Xx

  9. Add my request for a pic of the red fauxhawk. 🙂

    And thanks very much for the award. I got another one recently, but I’m waiting to pass them on until I find some new blogs. I don’t follow that many, and it’s silly to keep giving awards to the same people. So, maybe I’ll pass them on in a month or two.

    • Aly Hughes says:

      You’re welcome! And yours is officially the only non-wordpress blog on the list! I just had to share it with everyone. 🙂 I had to wait as well, the first one I received after only a month or two of blogging. I didn’t even follow the proposed 15-20 people at that point!

      And I think I have to post the picture now. 😉

  10. Jeannie says:

    Congratulations to you! And yes–I want to see that red fauxhawk! 🙂

  11. Thank you for the nomination for the Liebster Award! I’m going to put my thinking cap on for the five I love best (besides yours of course)!

  12. James says:

    Thank you for the nomination! =]

  13. Congrats to you on the awards! Great work!!

  14. Luarien says:

    I’ll be reposting the award soon, I hope. I’ve been having a rough go of it lately which is why it’s taken so long to come thank you here :3.

    And, if you’re curious, I have perhaps 20 something followers and about the same in people who follow my blog from G+ and Twitter. I kind of wish WordPress had RSS stats in their stats page though. >.>

    Again, thank you. It really touches the heart to know that someone thinks I’m worth the attention.

    • Aly Hughes says:

      You’re very welcome! 🙂 I know how life can get the better of our wants and wishes. Thankfully there’s no time restriction on accepting a blog award! If you keep up the good effort and work in your writing, I know more people will be paying attention. 🙂

      And I think there’s definitely something to be said about the WordPress stats. Perhaps not in follower numbers, but the visitor stats for past days has changed on me before, dropping my amount of views for a day the week after. Very unreliable and misleading!

Add Your Thoughts

