StoryCorps: You’ll Laugh, Cry, and Want More

So last week I posted about how I enjoy stories of all kinds.  This week I’d like to share with you this wonderful organization called StoryCorps.  If you haven’t heard about it yet, well, prepare to be enthralled.  Here is what their official site has to say:

StoryCorps is an independent nonprofit whose mission is to provide Americans of all backgrounds and beliefs with the opportunity to record, share, and preserve the stories of our lives. Since 2003, StoryCorps has collected and archived more than 40,000 interviews from nearly 80,000 participants.

Along with recording all of these stories, they also put several animated versions of interviews on YouTube.

I cannot put into words how much these personal stories have touched me.   Whether they make you laugh, like the interview about a Sunday School teacher, or make you cry, like the story of a loved one lost on 9/11, these stories are worth listening to.  They’re captivating, heartbreaking, touching, uplifting, and inspirational.   Stories at their finest.

I whole-heartedly recommend that you guys check out their website and YouTube channel.  But beware:  I hardly ever cry, but half of the four minute animations make me start bawling by the end of them.

Exhibit A: The story of Danny and Annie.  This is my favorite of their animated stories, and it’s so touching, I cry every time I watch it(which is a lot).  So grab the tissues!

About Aly Hughes
Unprofessional, unedited, unpublished. Aly is out to make a name for herself by blogging, twittering, facebooking, and general internet-ing. Be warned: She may not know what she's talking about.

11 Responses to StoryCorps: You’ll Laugh, Cry, and Want More

  1. rtd14 says:

    Aly, that was beautiful. Thank you for sharing this. My son sat in my lap as we watched it. He did not understand a word, but he smiled and I teared up. Thanks again for sharing!!!!

    • Aly Hughes says:

      As someone who loves stories, I couldn’t pass up on sharing about this! 🙂 I’m glad you enjoyed this particular story as I did. Some of the other videos are just heartbreaking, but this one, no matter how sad, is heartwarming because they spent so many years happily married, and you can just hear the love in their voices.

  2. Jeannie says:

    My SIL and her daughter did this in New Mexico! I love the whole idea of it. You are so right, the stories make you laugh and cry. This is a wonderful post!

    • Aly Hughes says:

      Oh wow, that’s great! I say I wish I could do one, but to be honest I have no idea what I would talk about…perhaps I’d wrangle my dad in for an interview. 😉 And you’re right, it’s such a fantastic idea, and I’m so glad that they’re able to continue doing it.

  3. robincoyle says:

    Wow. What a beautiful love story. You were right. Tissues required. Sigh.

    • Aly Hughes says:

      After I posted this I wondered if maybe I should have waited, I’d hate to post something that made people cry first thing in the morning! It’s such a beautiful story though, because you can’t help but feel warm and happy that they did spend many years happily together.

  4. What a great resource. It’s inspiring in and of itself, but any resource that helps writers see the experiences from all walks of life is particularly useful. Thanks!

    • Aly Hughes says:

      That’s so true. I grew up loving fantasy and fiction books, but I think the best stories are real ones. These are indeed great for giving insights into all sorts of people. 🙂

  5. Wow, will definitely be checking out the site, thanks hon 🙂

    xx

Add Your Thoughts

