A Guest Post and An Update

I am thrilled to announce that my very first Guest Post has gone live today!  I am deeply honored to be hosted by Rebecca T. Dickinson on A Word or More.   Be sure to check out her warm & welcoming blog, as well as my guest post, Our Personal Lenses.

Fantastic news aside, my writing, blogging, and twittering has taken a seat on the back burner for the past few days.  (I promise I’ll get to everyone’s comments on my previous post in the near future!)  Mostly this is due to a little thing called Life.  Of which, I won’t bore you with details, but let’s just say, I’m busy.

Hopefully, it won’t be long before I’ll be back in the swing of things in regards to my blog.  At least I plan on it in time for the Sunday Versus.   But in the meantime, here are a few noteworthy things:

  • Sara Flower(who is currently doing a blog tour for her book By the Sword) is hosting an Amazon Gift Card Give-away here.  Submissions are free and they close April 8th, so there’s still time left to enter!
  • I’m considering updating my layout to something…more welcoming.  I love this layout because it’s very clean and easy to navigate.   I like the grey scale because it reminds me of the grey, cloud covered, rainy, dreary place I used to call home.  But I wonder if it seems too “cold” and unwelcoming.  Thoughts?
  • Also, I’ve seen a few people with ‘signatures’ at the bottom of their posts, and I thought it was really fun.  A great way to leave a more lasting/unique impression.  So here I am, trying it out.  What do you guys think?  Is it too cheesy, or just cheesy enough? 🙂

Happy writing, everyone!

About Aly Hughes
Unprofessional, unedited, unpublished. Aly is out to make a name for herself by blogging, twittering, facebooking, and general internet-ing. Be warned: She may not know what she's talking about.

16 Responses to A Guest Post and An Update

  1. Jeannie says:

    How do you do the signature Aly? That’s a nice personal touch. Blogs are so personal. Do what makes YOU happy. 🙂

    • Aly Hughes says:

      I’ve only used this website: http://www.mylivesignature.com/mls_create_signature.php Just click on the first option listed, it’s free, and you get to pick the font/size/color/slant. I might try to see what other websites are out there though. I do love how, for being such a small gesture, it really packs a punch!
      Although I don’t mind this layout, it’s sort of in limbo for me. I’m pretty proficient with CSS, so once I can invest in the custom design option I’m going to give it a make-over. 🙂

      • Jeannie says:

        Thanks for the link! I went through a spell of changing my theme from this to that and finally found one I really like. Since you know CSS you’ll have fun tweaking whatever you decide on.

        • Aly Hughes says:

          I must admit, I entertained the idea of hoarding the signature secrets! 😉 Naw, I’m too nice to do that though!
          It has been a few years since I’ve played around with CSS, but I like to think I paid enough attention in my web design classes to at least tweak things…you know, without completely destroying my blog beyond repair. 🙂

  2. Sara Flower says:

    I love the signature idea! I also like the grey scale theme. If it matches your personality, I would say go for it.

    Thanks for the mention of my blog tour and give away! 😀

    • Aly Hughes says:

      You’re welcome! It’s funny, it started out with me wondering when your give away ended, which lead me to think, ‘I should mention it in my post.’ So I started to type then I thought, well, while I’m here, she’s also on a blog tour. 😉

      And yes, I think I’ll stick with this theme until I’m able to customize it myself. I think the only thing that bugs me is the small header. Or maybe it’s because I only have a tiny Netbook, and not a fullscreen laptop/monitor!

  3. Hi, Aly:
    Leave the greyscale as it is. Lots of folks dress up their web sites and blog pages with all sorts of graphics, but “Content is King”. Everything else is a distraction to the message. The signature is neat, though!

    • Aly Hughes says:

      You’re definitely right. I played around with the colorful, artsy ones, but I love how clean this layout is. And the signature is growing on me. It’s nice, simple, and doesn’t go overboard!

  4. i like the signature. i was just wondering how you did that right before you mentioned it. as far as your layout, i say go with whatever you like best. it’s yours, so it should have your stamp on it.

    • Aly Hughes says:

      So far I’ve only played around with signatures on this website: http://www.mylivesignature.com/mls_create_signature.php But there are ads everywhere and it takes a while to load, so I might try to search for another website. I like the end product though!
      And I agree about bloggers having their own stamp on the layout! Hopefully I can budget the money and buy the customization option on WP soon. I’d really like to tweak a few things myself. Until then, I do believe this is the most satisfying layout for me. 🙂 Thanks for the comment!

  5. I love the signature…..might have to copy you lol 😉

    Xx

  6. rtd14 says:

    The signature is great! Thank you for guest blogging for me! As you have written in your post, life has kept me busy. I appreciate the great article! Hopefully, I will hear something in a few days! Thank you again, Aly!

Add Your Thoughts

