Nothing Motivates Me To Write More Than Mortality

The past few days have not been particularly kind to me.  But it takes a big scare to remind you what’s really important.

Over the past three days I have:

  • had my lawn chairs stolen off of my patio
  • sold my books to afford to pay the bills
  • taped a garbage bag over a window that won’t roll up in my car
  • been rejected for a job I thought for sure I would get
  • had a relationship-changing fight with my boyfriend

Suffice it to say, I was equals parts angry and disheartened.  Then my mom texted me, saying that my dad is in the hospital…again.

And suddenly, none of that other stuff mattered.

The lawn chairs were mildewy and moldy anyways.  I was never going to re-read those books.  It’s supposed to be sunny the next few days, so no rain will get in my open window.  I have a different job interview next week.  And if anything, my boyfriend and I have grown closer since then.

But my dad suffered a stroke a while back.  And he’s been having bad chest pains, so my mom took him to the ER.

As bad as I thought everything was before, it is nothing compared to a mortality check.  I can sit and stress over things that, honestly, won’t have a huge affect on me.  Or, I can deal with them as best I can, then move on and use my energy more productively.

In this case, my writing has been kick-started with a singular thought:  What if my Dad (or another loved one) isn’t around to see my first novel finished?  

Motivation to write, indeed.

So when life gets difficult, and all the bad things pile up, just think of what’s really important.  It’s okay to take a day or two to recharge, to cry, to deal with everything, but don’t let it stop you completely.  And remember, you WILL make it through!  (And blog readers make great cheerleaders!)

All the best,

About Aly Hughes
Unprofessional, unedited, unpublished. Aly is out to make a name for herself by blogging, twittering, facebooking, and general internet-ing. Be warned: She may not know what she's talking about.

24 Responses to Nothing Motivates Me To Write More Than Mortality

  1. Hi Aly

    You have no idea just how much I needed to see this. I have been stuck in a writing rut for too long now and this post has been the spark that I needed! I hope you Dad is Okay, My Dad has heart failure so i know how tough it is having your Dad not well. I’m now off to get writing. Thank you for this post 🙂

    Peter

    • Aly Hughes says:

      Peter, thank you for the kind words! I hope your Dad is doing well also. I’m glad my post helped get you back on track. We all get in ruts, but the important thing is that we can pull ourselves back out of them too. 🙂 Happy Writing!

  2. Jeannie says:

    Yes, the thoughts about mortality tend to put things into the right perspective. I’m glad you were able to see the forest through the trees 😉 But more than anything, I send good thoughts and hopes your way for your Dad. xoxox The other stuff is just stuff…really.

  3. robincoyle says:

    Hope your dad has a speedy recovery. You have turned his illness into a positive by using it as motivation to write, write, write! Right on! Or should I say, Write On!

  4. Elliot says:

    Tis true Ally, nothing helps show you what is important in life more than a health scare with a close family member, or as I’ve been finding out, having a young child.

    Best wishes for your dad and hope everything turns out ok.

  5. Nevil Shute once wrote something about flying — wish I could remember the exact quote — something on the order of the good thing about flying is that dealing with the occasional life-threatening emergency that tends to arise sometimes while flying is a wonderful way of keeping one’s priorities in order. Something like that. But yes. I wish my mother and my grandparents could see were still around to see me FINALLY make a success of myself…maybe…someday soon! But I’d better hurry while Dad is still around to see it!

    • Aly Hughes says:

      I’ve heard something similar to that. I think the world would be a nicer place if people didn’t take things for granted as much we do. I can be scary, but good to have reminders! 🙂

  6. I hope your dad is ok Aly.

    Very true hon, very true 🙂

    Xx

  7. Aly, hope your dad is doing okay. You’re so right about calling it a mortality check. BTW, I’m sending you the Lucky 7 Award – see my most recent post!

  8. Ava Alexus says:

    Aly, so sorry to hear about your father and life’s other hiccups. I’m glad it has brought some positivity for you.

  9. My first novel will arrive in bookstores this time next year; my mother, who taught me to read almost before I could talk and who really understood and encouraged my love of books, died too soon to see it. You are more right than I can say to find motivation in your father’s illness. I wish him a speedy recovery, and you the inspiration and steadfastness to make your story happen.

Add Your Thoughts

