What’s Up With Aly

So, here’s what has been up with me!

-I fell off the face of the Internet for 10 weeks instead of 2.  I apologize!

– My 40+ hours/week job is finally becoming routine and much less stressful.

– I went to a family reunion in Illinois, and came back with an outline to co-write a book with my dad, based on his life.

– At that same reunion, I found out one of my relatives wrote and published a book(I have a signed copy!).  It’s a book on quilting, with patterns she designed.  They’re based on the signs/symbols hobos would use to communicate with each other and leave messages on the road.  In fact, she goes into a lot of history, which is why I bought the book since I don’t quilt!  (If you’re at all interested, let me know and I’ll send a link to the book)

– I may (finally) be joining a writers group.

– And to add to that, I found a writing partner in my best friend’s girlfriend. 🙂

Overall, I’ve been thrice as busy as usual, but I’m finally getting this balancing act down.  I still won’t be posting as much as when I first started, but hopefully I’ll have a few posts each month.   I hope you guys have been doing well, and I definitely look forward to browsing all the blogs I’ve been missing!

About Aly Hughes
Unprofessional, unedited, unpublished. Aly is out to make a name for herself by blogging, twittering, facebooking, and general internet-ing. Be warned: She may not know what she's talking about.

10 Responses to What’s Up With Aly

  1. The quilting book with the hobo symbols sounds cool. Good luck with that book with your dad!

  2. Wow. With all that going on, I’m not surprise you didn’t have time for blogging. Welcome back. I look forward to hearing about how these various projects progress.

  3. I’d love to see the link for the quilting book. I don’t quilt either but it sounds amazing.

    • Aly Hughes says:

      Here’s a link to the book: http://www.amazon.com/Hobo-Quilts-Original-Blocks-Language/dp/1440204128

      There are numerous little stories within the book from both hobos and people who fed/housed them. I think it makes a great coffee table book! Here’s a small story:

      “I was riding a passenger train one night in between the cars when a railroad detective spotted me. I jumped on the other side and climbed on top of the train. The train rolled out of the station and I had to ride 100 miles holding on for dear life. Every time we took a curve, I would slide toward the edge. I prayed a lot. ~ Archie Frost, Missouri”

  4. Elliot says:

    Glad things are going well for you and welcome back.

  5. Welcome back!

    Sounds like you’ve been surrounded by inspiration 🙂

    Xx

  6. Jeannie says:

    Awesome! I’m especially intrigued with the plan to write with your Dad! That is huge!!!!

Add Your Thoughts

